Counselling, Relationship, Self Care, Therapy

Love Languages & Self-Care Practices

Love Empowerment Clinic - Hero 2

What are love languages?

It is a way in which we prefer to receive love from others.

Often learned from our parents or primary caregivers.

They develop early in life.

They are consistent throughout our lifetime.

They are often a way in which we tend to show love to other people.


Check Your Love Language  Here


Words of Affirmation

This is your love language if:

You like unexpected and genuine compliments.

You like verbal affirmation from others.

Verbal abuse affects you deeply and can take a toll on your relationships.



Self-care practices for this love language:

Write a diary or a journal.

Remind yourself of your strengths.

Listen to your favourite music and sing along.

Read an inspiring book or listen to a podcast.

Practice self-kindness and self-compassion when talking to yourself.

Call a person close to your heart.

Quality Time

This is your love language if:

You value undivided attention.

You value one on one time with no distractions.

It is meaningful for you to organise activities and spend time together.

It hurts you deeply if the person whom you spend time with is looking at their phone or is not paying attention during a conversation or other shared activity.

Cancelled and postponed meetings are especially hurtful for you.



Self-care practices for this love language:

Make time to do something enjoyable by yourself (cook your favourite meal, go shopping, go see a movie)

Meditate or do a mindfulness exercise.

Get a new hobby.

Experience something new (get a Groupon experience, walk a dog from a shelter, volunteer)

Take yourself on a date or an adventure.

Gift Giving and Receiving

This is your love language if:

You appreciate unexpected gifts.

You value gifts that required thought rather than large amounts of money.

You do not like thoughtless and meaningless gifts.

Missed anniversaries and birthdays are especially hurtful for you.



Self-care practices for this love language:

Cook your favourite meal.

Buy yourself something nice, doesn’t need to be anything expensive. Perhaps a flower or a favourite snack.

Go to bed early.

Make your bed in the morning.

Acts of Service

This is your love language if:

You perceive help from others as an act of appreciation.

You like when someone does something for you like run errands or help you with a project.

Unfulfilled promises and laziness are especially disrespectful for you.



Self-care practices for this love language:

Organise your space at home or at work.

Take time to organise your schedule.

Do a home improvement project which would make you happy.

Finish a chore at home which has been daunting for you.

Help others (volunteer or foster a pet)

Physical Touch

This is your love language if:

You value hugs and other unexpected, non-sexual forms of touch.

You feel loved when people close to you are present near you when you can feel that closeness.

You feel unappreciated and unwanted when people are physically distant from you.

At work, it may mean that you appreciate that someone puts a hand on your shoulder for the job well done.



Self-care practices for this love language:

Get a massage.

Buy a soft robe.

Take a bath with salts and bubbles.

Take a yoga class (or exercise in general)

Buy a massage device.

Self-soothing (touch/rub your arm, chest, or shoulders) – gives you a physical sense of comfort and safety.

Focus on your breath.

Hug a person close to your heart.

Other Self-Care Practices:

Exercise or just do something active – gardening, take a walk, stretch.

Get creative – do puzzles, draw your emotions (art therapy is not about perfection but about expression), try a new recipe, create a Pinterest mood board, knit, saw, get crafty, build something.

Meet with your friends.

Have a good cry.

Listen to a podcast or watch a funny video.

Remind yourself about a great event in your life that made you feel amazing.

Back to list